The Aquarium of Rhodes was established in 1934 at the initiative of Mario Lago during the Italian occupation of the Dodecanese. It was originally a research centre called Reale Istituto di Ricerche Biologiche di Rodi. It began operations in 1937, studying hydrobiology, the sponges, and the fisheries of the Aegean Sea.
It is in an Art-Deco edifice designed by Armando Bernabiti. The marine environment inspired the ornaments on the façade. Inside the building, a corridor resembling an underwater sea cave is ornate with natural seashells, which enhance the environment, enriching the experience.
At the same time the headquarters of the Hydrobiological Station of Rhodes, the Aquarium of Rhodes exhibits all kinds of fish from the Mediterranean Sea, dolphins, seals, sea turtles, octopuses, and marine flora. A separate facility of the Aquarium cares for injured sea turtles and seals.
The Aquarium of Rhodes is open daily except for legal holidays, as follows:
April 1st – October 31st: 09:00 a.m. – 8:30 p.m. and November 1st – March 31st: 09:00 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.